Bad news on the Solomon’s Pride front :(

When trying to publish works that have been previously published (like Solomon’s Pride, book 1-4), publishers have high standards when considering republishing. In the end it seemed they felt that the books needed too much revision for them to consider publishing Solomon’s Pride. I’d already done some revising on the first two books, where a slight change in book one caused even more changes to book 2 (though not too much regarding Jace and Link’s relationship – mostly just on the story-line surrounding them in the beginning)

 

I am honestly not sure what to do now. I obviously want to publish and complete the Solomon’s Pride serie, but at the same time I want to move on. Finding a publisher who will publish themΒ  might take a long time in which I could write and publish other things. The publishers I talked to did encourage me to send in other, unpublished works as they liked my characters and general story-telling.

 

I am considering publishing the first four books on my blog (revised to some extent – the biggest changes will be found in the first half of The Link that Binds) But I have yet to make up my mind as I was crossing my fingers for the republishing.

 

Saying I feel bummed would be putting it mildly, but I am not done yet.

 

To quote a nifty little decor thing that I have standing in my bookshelf (a quote by Thomas Edison, if I’m not mistaken) :

 

Many of life’s failures are people who did not realise how close they were to success when they gave up.

 

I’m not giving up.

13 thoughts on “Bad news on the Solomon’s Pride front :(

  1. Keep in mind I am just a reader so this advice may be no good. πŸ™‚ Have you tried Mischief Corner Books? Several of the S****r authors have repubbed their work thru there and the stories are wonderful. Just a thought. Also, there is Rooster & Pig publishing. Don’t let the “bigger” name pubs scare you off the series….your fans will re-buy your books wherever you take them….As we luv the series and would like to see it through to the end with you.

    Sorry, didn’t mean to preach…as I said only a reader but I would hate to see you “give up” or “give in”.

    hugs from your fan,
    jo

    • Don’t believe I’ve heard of Mischief corner books actually. It’s easy to get stuck on the limited amount of publishers you’ve already have a connection with (through publishing or simply through books you’ve read by other authors that one follows)
      I absolutely appreciate the tip and no you weren’t too preachy πŸ˜‰ sometimes you feel stuck without seeing the way out and if someone can point out a way then that’s wonderful πŸ˜€ (especially when it’s not something that means getting too personal about the author’s work, as we can be grumbly creatures at times and protect our works as if they were our cubs πŸ˜‰ ) Currently, I’m battling a bad cold, but as soon as my head clears up, I will most definitely check it out πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip Jo πŸ™‚ it’s much appreciated ^_^

  2. Another small publisher to contact is Rooster & Pig Books. I happen to do some acquisition reading for them and love your Solomon’s Pride books and want to read more of them. Which doesn’t mean a guaranteed publishing, but I do think your books would be a good fit. Here’s the email if you’re interested: acquisitions.rppublishing@gmail.com

  3. You could always self-publish the series through your blog as you mentioned. All you would have to do is probably set up an account with paypal for us to pay for them through and some type of downloading platform for the different ebook formats. I’m sure it’s not as easy as that but I am desperate for the last two books in the series and am trying really hard to encourage you not to give up on the series before we get our final two stories! πŸ™‚

  4. Have you looked into doing bundles? Like releasing book 1 & 2 together and then book 3 & 4 together. Then continue to release book 5 then later 6. I saw this with A Matter of Time series by Mary Calmes

  5. Hopefully this will help you, the authors connected to this are a wonderful bunch.

    this was on their facebook post today, I believe.

    Are you an author in search of a new publishing home? Do you write romance or erotica? Dark Hollows Press would love to talk to you! Drop us a line at darkhollowspress@gmail.com and find out if you’re the next bestselling author in our family!
    http://www.darkhollowspress.com/

    Hope it helps! Because I truly can’t wait to read the next part in this series!!

    • I have read quite a few or Dark Hollows books and they are great. Please try this Dawn darlin. We really want your books back out there… πŸ™‚ If you self publish we, your readers, will certainly support you in that too. I figure that none of these options is an easy decision but please, just don’t give up on such wonderful world building, characters and a series so many love. Keep up the great work and good luck to you.

      hugs from your fan,
      jo
      another place to check out is Secret Cravings Publishing….they have several mm series that I follow.

  6. Hiya Dawn,
    Another reader’s perspective. I’m currently in contact with another author who’s in the same boat as you are. She ultimately decided to self-publish the books and doing independent revisions and hiring an editor. It’s less trouble than going through the hoops. I can imagine how much trouble it is.
    Good luck with everything. i hope there will be more books in the serie!

  7. Whatever you’ll decide, your fans love your stories and I hope everything will pan out as you wish. I’d love to read the other books in the Solomon’s pride series, but I’d love to read new ones too, because I really like the way you write and your characters are great πŸ™‚ So no matter what you’ll give us next, I’ll read it! Hopefully there’s a solution for your incredible series. I’m holding my thumbs!
    Best wishes πŸ™‚

  8. DAWN, can you email me? I dont have an email addy for you and cannot find one. I have a couple of suggestions from some of the S****r authors and some that were not even caught up in all that….

    email me at johannasnodgrass(at)yahoo(dot)pig

    one person I have chatted with is very interested in this series!!!

    Thanks,
    jo

Leave a Reply

